Full Member
STUDIO WG3
Studio WG3 consists of the Graz-based architects Albert Erjavec, Matthias Gumhalter, Christian Reschreiter and Jan Ries.

In the course of their academic studies they already created designs in the field of Minimal Housing, such as the variable and self-sufficient living concept of HyperCubus. This mobile hotel room was developed for the tourism industry. The accommodation unit for two people cuts down the necessary requirements of eating, sleeping, and sanitary systems to 21 square meters.

With Hypercubus, Studio WG3 was nominated for the Holzbaupreis Steiermark and awarded the Staatspreis Design in the category of Design Concepts.

In 2012, the City of Graz hired Studio WG3 – together with the design agency EN GARDE – to plan and implement the rebuilding of the Department of Commerce and Tourism Development (A15). Interdisciplinary working and pushing the envelope: the wide range of their work is also demonstrated by the 1st prize in the competition of the new community center in St. Martin/ Salzburg, which they did together with architect Nicole Lam.

What makes their design different from their competitors – in case of the community center – is the diversity of usage for the building. It is not just an administration office with opening hours but also a center for young and elderly people as well as a training facility. This multifunctional nature was considered in the submission and the community center was finished in 2014.

The perfect usage of spaces does also combine two core disciplines of the STUDIO WG3 architects, because apart from being architects they are also trained carpenters and graduates from a secondary college for furniture design. Creating overall solutions is always a core element of their concepts – very much as intended by the idea of the architect being an all-round designer.

The furniture designed by WG3 is often developed because of personal or project-related requirements, and is finally produced in larger series on demand. The lectern C3 is available in steel, plastic, or wood, if required it can be dismantled and delivered with a support. The Hyperboard, in turn, is part of the kitchenware and has already been exhibited at the Salone Internationale del Mobile 2016. It is a cutting board that you can either use as a single board or that – together with further boards – can form one surface. The name derives from its geometrical shape. HyperCubs, Hyperboard. The shape completes the product.

Contact
STUDIO WG3
Griesgasse 18
8020 Graz
Arch. Dipl.-Ing. Matthias Gumhalter
Hyperbrett

Full Member
STUDIO WG3
Studio WG3, das sind die Grazer Architekten Albert Erjavec, Matthias Gumhalter, Christian Reschreiter und Jan Ries.

Bereits w√§hrend des gemeinsamen Studiums sind Entw√ľrfe im Bereich Minimal Housing entstanden, unter anderem das variable und versorgungsautarke Wohnkonzept des HyperCubus. Dieses mobile Hotelzimmer wurde f√ľr die Nutzung im Tourismusbereich entwickelt. Die Wohneinheit f√ľr zwei Personen reduziert die notwendigen Anforderungen Essen, Schlafen und Sanit√§r auf 21 Quadratmeter.

Studio WG3 wurde 2011 mit dem HyperCubus f√ľr den Holzbaupreis Steiermark nominiert und mit dem Staatspreis Design in der Kategorie Design Concepts ausgezeichnet.

2012 beauftragte die Stadt Graz Studio WG3 gemeinsam mit der Designagentur En Garde beauftragt, den Umbau der Abteilung f√ľr Wirtschaft- und Tourismusentwicklung (A15) (verlinken) zu planen und umzusetzen. Interdisziplin√§res Arbeiten, Grenzen ausloten: Die gro√üe Bandbreite ihrer Arbeiten zeigt auch der 1. Preis beim Wettbewerb um das neue Gemeindezentrum in St. Martin in Salzburg gemeinsam mit Architektin Nicole Lam.

Was ihren Entwurf im Fall des Gemeindezentrums von den Mitbewerbern unterscheidet ist die Vielfalt an Nutzungsm√∂glichkeiten f√ľr das Geb√§ude. Es ist nicht nur Amtshaus mit Parteienverkehr, sondern Jugend-, Fortbildungs- und Seniorenzentrum. Diese Multifunktionalit√§t wurde in der Einreichung ber√ľcksichtigt, das Gemeindezentrum ist seit 2014 fertiggestellt.

Die optimale Nutzung von R√§umen verbindet schlie√ülich auch zwei Kerndisziplinen der STUDIO WG3 Architekten, sind sie doch neben ihrem Beruf als Architekten auch gelernte Tischler und Absolventen eines Kollegs f√ľr M√∂beldesign. Die Erstellung von Gesamtl√∂sungen ist immer zentrales Element ihrer Konzepte, ganz im Sinne des Architekten als Universaldesigner.

Die M√∂bel von Studio WG3 entstehen oftmals aus Eigenbedarf oder projektbezogen und gehen auf Nachfrage in Serie. Das Pult C3 ist in Stahl, Kunststoff oder Holz zu haben, auf Bestellung ist es zerlegbar und mit Rednerauflage lieferbar. Das Hyperboard wiederum ist dem Bereich ‚ÄěKitchenware‚Äú zugeordnet und hat es bereits auf die Salone Internationale del Mobile 2016 geschafft. Ein Schneidbrett, das entweder als einzelnes Brett zum Einsatz kommt oder in Verbindung mit mehreren Brettern zu einer Fl√§che verschmilzt. Der Name leitet sich aus der geometrischen Form ab. HyperCubus, Hyperboard. Die Form vollendet das Produkt.

Kontakt
STUDIO WG3
Griesgasse 18
8020 Graz
Arch. Dipl.-Ing. Matthias Gumhalter
Hyperbrett