Full Member
Martin Mostböck D.I. Arch.
The work of Austrian architect and designer Martin Mostboeck can best be described as experimental and sustainable, with a touch of irony. It includes furniture, houses, office facilities, interior concepts as well as everyday objects.

Usually, the attempt to intrigue against somebody, is done rather subtly, however when it comes to the ‘Best Friend Chair’ of Martin Mostboeck, this happens most obviously. A chair with an ax as a back rest – the designer coming to terms with his personal experiences, demonstrated by a visual concept of vengeance. The model ‘FLAXX’ takes a very different line. The chair is a hybrid between a comfortable four-legged chair and a free-swinging chair. The seat shell is made of flax and is – just like the frame of the chair – 100% recyclable. In 1999, as a submission for a competition of the Burgenland-based furniture company Braun Lockenhaus, he created the ‘Garcia’ chair. The stackable model, that adapts to every space situation, did not win, but did still enter serial production. The latest objects of Martin Mostboeck include ‘Eklipse’, a luminaire equipped with LED technology and an old-school mechanical dimmer.

Martin Mostboeck finished his architectural studies at TU Vienna in 1994. It was already then that he designed his first pieces of furniture and luminaires. His work has already been exhibited all around the world, most recently in 2015 with the exhibition AID ArchitectureInteriorsDesign in the course of the London Design Festival or in 2014 at Designers’ Saturday in Langenthal. A lot of his pieces are also to be found in international collections. The chair ‘FLAXX’ for example was included in the permanent collection of Design Museum Holon in Tel Aviv. His chairs ‘Garcia’ and ‘Best Friends Chair’ are part of the permanent collection of MAK and Museum of Arts and Design in New York.

The architect and designer designs furniture, houses, office facilities, interior concepts as well as everyday objects and crosses borders between disciplines. For him, architecture is a common journey to a final, mutual happiness and he likes to compare the planning of a house to making a made-to-measure suit. Doing this, the architect must be able to read the mind of his client. It is the only way to create an object with a soul. He works for leading European manufacturers such as Moroso, Eternit, Vorwerk, and WMF.

Mostboeck was awarded numerous prizes for his designs and objects. For ‘FLAXX’ he received the GREEN GOOD DESIGN AWARD. His shop design for Thurner Fashion Concept Store in Vienna was awarded the Adolf Loos Prize in 2005. He got the RedDotAward already three times. Martin Mostboeck is a lecturer at Technical University Vienna, Design Museum Holon in Tel Aviv and MAK-Academy.

Contact
Martin Mostböck D.I. Arch.
Schönlaterngasse 5/4/3
1010 Wien
Martin Mostböck
Bestfriendchair
Eklipse
FLAXX
House for a Winemaker
AID London Design Festival
The Rough One

Full Member
Martin Mostböck D.I. Arch.
Experimentell und nachhaltig, mit einem Hauch von Ironie. So lassen sich die Arbeiten des österreichischen Designers und Architekten Martin Mostböck wohl am besten beschreiben. Zu diesen zählen Möbel, Häuser, Geschäftseinrichtungen, Interieurs ebenso wie Objekte des Alltags.

Meist gestaltet sich der Versuch jemandem „ein Hackl ins Kreuz zu hauen“ eher subtil, beim „Best Friends Chair“ von Martin Mostböck geschieht dies hingegen gewollt offensichtlich. Ein Stuhl als dessen Rückenlehne eine Axt fungiert – die Aufarbeitung von persönlichen Erfahrungen des Designers manifestiert in einer Bildsprache der Vergeltung. In eine ganz andere Kerbe schlägt das Modell „FLAXX“. Der Stuhl ist Hybrid zwischen bequemen Vierbeiner und praktischem Freischwinger. Die aus Flachs bestehende Sitzschale ist ebenso wie das Untergestell des Stuhls zu 100% recyclingfähig. Als Einreichung für einen Wettbewerb des burgenländischen Möbelunternehmens Braun Lockenhaus entstand bereits 1999 der Stuhl „Garcia“. Das stapelbare Modell, das sich jeder Raumsituation anpasst, ging zwar nicht als Sieger hervor, wurde aber dennoch in Serie produziert. Zu den jüngsten Objekten von Martin Mostböck zählt Eklipse, eine Lampe, mit LED-Technologie und einem old-school, mechanischen Dimmer kombiniert.

Martin Mostböck schloss 1994 das Studium der Architektur an der Technischen Universität in Wien ab. Schon damals entstanden erste Entwürfe für Möbel und Leuchten. Arbeiten des Wieners wurden bereits weltweit ausgestellt, zuletzt 2015 mit der Ausstellung AID ArchitectureInteriorsDesign im Rahmen des London Design Festivals oder 2014 beim Designers’ Saturday in Langenthal. Viele seiner Arbeiten finden sich auch in internationalen Sammlungen. So wurde der Sessel „FLAXX“ in die ständige Sammlung des Design Museums Holon in Tel Aviv aufgenommen. Seine Sessel „Garcia“ und „Best Friends Chair“ sind Teil der permanenten Sammlung des MAK und des Museum of Arts and Design in New York.

Der Architekt und Designer entwirft sowohl Möbel, Häuser, Geschäftseinrichtungen, Interieurs als auch Objekte des Alltags und ist ein Grenzgänger zwischen den Disziplinen. Architektur bedeutet für ihn eine gemeinsame Reise an deren Endpunkt alle beglückt sind und vergleicht das Planen eines Hauses mit der Arbeit an einem Maßanzug. Dabei muss der Architekt die Gedanken seines Auftraggebers lesen können. Nur auf diese Weise entsteht ein Objekt mit Seele. Seine Arbeiten entstehen für führende europäische Hersteller wie Moroso, Eternit, Vorwerk und WMF.

Für seine Entwürfe und Arbeiten hat Mostböck zahlreiche Preisen erhalten. Der „FLAXX“ wurde mit dem GREEN GOOD DESIGN AWARD ausgezeichnet. Seine Geschäftsgestaltung des Thurner Fashion Concept Stores in Wien erhielt 2005 den Adolf Loos Preis. Bereits dreimal ging der RedDotAward an Martin Mostböck. Martin Mostböck ist Vortragender an der Technischen Universität Wien, dem Design Museum Holon in Tel Aviv und der MAK-Akademie.

Kontakt
Martin Mostböck D.I. Arch.
Schönlaterngasse 5/4/3
1010 Wien
Martin Mostböck
Bestfriendchair
Eklipse
FLAXX
House for a Winemaker
AID London Design Festival
The Rough One