Full Member
Kitsch & Kunst
The name of his shop says it all. At Kitsch & Kunst not only the jewelry glitters, but also the owner. Walter Kriwetz moves off-mainstream and revives traditional things from long-forgotten times at Fischerhaus.

The Fischerhaus, which was first mentioned in a document around 1709, was built by the Royal Fisherman of Graz and hence is a reminiscence of times when the river Mur did significantly contribute to the feeding of the city. The scaly glittering of the fish bodies has disappeared but the range of products at Fischerhaus is still a glittering one. We do actually consider the boundary between Kitsch and Art as fluent as the river Mur’, says Walter Kriwetz.

At Fischerhaus at Neutorgasse 9, visitors with high artistic standards can find just the right pieces of jewelry. Some would call it Kitsch, but many people do appreciate tin toys, music boxes and snow balls as relicts of the good old times. At Easter the shop owner offers a lot of tin toys and at Christmas there are many glittering music boxes, snow balls and hand blown Christmas decorations in more than 600 shapes, like VW buses, the Clock Tower of Graz or the City Hall of Graz, at Fischerhaus.

Just a few steps away, at NTG 25, a shop-window attracts passers-by with dresses of the 1950s. In the little boutique, his wife Christine Kriwetz sells absolute eye-catchers for every occasion. Pin up dresses, petticoats and Rockabilly fashion are more popular than ever and conjure vintage flair to weddings, motto parties and birthday bashes.

Contact
Kitsch & Kunst
Neutorgasse 9
8010 Graz
Christmas Tree Decoration
Walter Kriwetz

Full Member
Kitsch & Kunst
Der Name seines Shops macht ihm alle Ehre. Bei Kitsch & Kunst schillern nicht nur SchmuckstĂŒcke, sondern auch der Besitzer. Walter Kriwetz bewegt sich abseits des Mainstreams und lĂ€sst im Fischerhaus Traditionelles aus lĂ€ngt vergessenen Zeiten wieder aufleben.

„Das Fischerhaus, das urkundlich erstmals um 1709 ErwĂ€hnung fand, wurde vom landschaftlichen Fischer von Graz erbaut und erinnert damit an Zeiten, als die Mur noch wesentlich zur ErnĂ€hrung der Stadt beitrug. Das schuppige Schillern der Fischkörper gibt es heute nicht mehr – das Angebot im Fischerhaus ist ein Schillerndes geblieben.“ Wir selbst halten ja die Grenze zwischen Kitsch und Kunst fĂŒr fließend wie die Mur“, erzĂ€hlt Walter Kriwetz.

Im Fischerhaus in der Neutorgasse 9 finden Besucherinnen und Besucher mit kĂŒnstlerischen AnsprĂŒchen genau die richtigen SchmuckstĂŒcke. Manche wĂŒrden es als Kitsch bezeichnen, aber viele Menschen wissen Blechspielzeuge, Spieluhren und Schneekugeln als Relikte der guten, alten Zeit zu schĂ€tzen. Zu Ostern gibt es besonders Blechspielzeug und zu Weihnachten schillern im Fischerhaus Spieluhren, Schneekugeln und mundgeblasener Christbaumschmuck in ĂŒber 600 Formen, wie VW-Busse, der Grazer Uhrturm oder das Grazer Rathaus.

Gleich ein paar Schritte weiter, in der NTG 25, lockt das Schaufenster mit Kleidern der 1950er Jahre. In der kleinen Boutique verkauft seine Frau, Christine Kriwetz echte Hingucker fĂŒr jeden Anlass. Pin up Kleider, Petticoat und Rockabilly-Mode sind heute gefragter.

Kontakt
Kitsch & Kunst
Neutorgasse 9
8010 Graz
Mundgeblasener Christbaumschmuck
K & K am Altgrazer Christkindlmarkt
K & K im Fischerhaus