Full Member
Atelier Thomas Pucher
Architext Thomas Pucher defines architecture as ‘a tool to design the world as we like to see it’.

In 2005, architect Thomas Pucher founded Atelier Thomas Pucher and has since then not only shaped the building landscape of Graz.

The fact that his buildings are awarded with numerous prizes is a proof that people appreciate his designs. Four times in a row he was awarded the Best Architects Award: in 2011 for the residential project ‘Tartu Rebase Street’ in Estonia, in 2012 for the office building NIK at the Niolaiplatz in Graz (in cooperation with Bramberger Architects), followed by the 2013 award for the project Villa SK, a villa in Graz, and in 2014 for the Welcome Tower, the rebuilding of an office complex of the 1960s. In 2016, Thomas Pucher was once more honored for the project NIK and received the GerambRose Award, awarded by BauKultur Steiermark in the category of ‘working environments’.

Currently, the office of Atelier Thomas Pucher numbers 45 employees and is hence one of the biggest architectural studios in Graz. The range is characterized by international, national and regional projects. They won the first prize in the international competitions for the Tallinn Music School, Estonia, and the new seat of the Sinfonia Varsovia Orchestra in Warsaw, Poland.

A further winning project, the ‘Amstetten School Campus’, a new campus that combines several schools of higher education, also a music school, was finished in 2014. NIK, one of the most known projects in Graz, characterizes the left side of the river Mur and has turned into an architectural landmark, just like the Welcome Tower at the central station of Graz.

Thomas Pucher has a particular strong commitment to urban development and the densification of housing with simultaneous extension of green areas. In 2016, he was responsible for the implementation and organization of the Urban Future Global Conference and thus, brought Graz to the fore of international experts in the field of urban development and city planning. The central topic of the conference dealt with a core issue of the current urban planning in Graz, in which Atelier Thomas Pucher is involved in a creative and trend-setting way with various projects. For Thomas Pucher ‘Smart City’ stands for living and working in the quarter, green areas and the active use of the public spaces.

Contact
Atelier Thomas Pucher
Bahnhofgürtel 77/6
8020 Graz
Viertel Zwei Plus, Rondo in Vienna
Thomas Pucher
The Twist, Budapest
Tallinn Music School
Reininghaus goes Smart
LWL Clinic, Dortmund (Germany)
Green Heart, Belgrade
City Rose Park, Bucharest

Full Member
Atelier Thomas Pucher
Architekt Thomas Pucher definiert Architektur als „ein Werkzeug, um die Welt so zu gestalten, wie sie uns gefĂ€llt“.

Im Jahr 2005 grĂŒndete Architekt Thomas Pucher das Atelier Thomas Pucher und prĂ€gt seitdem mit seinen Projekten nicht nur die Grazer Baulandschaft.

Dass seine Arbeiten gefallen, sieht man an den zahlreichen Preisen, mit denen seine GebĂ€ude bedacht werden. So wurde er viermal in Folge mit dem Best Architects Award ausgezeichnet: 2011 fĂŒr den Wohnbau „Tartu Rebase Street“ in Estland, 2012 fĂŒr das BĂŒrogebĂ€ude NIK am Nikolaiplatz in Graz, das in Kooperation mit Bramberger Architects entstand. Es folgen 2013 die Auszeichnung fĂŒr das Projekt Villa SK, eine Villa in Graz und 2014 schließlich fĂŒr den Welcome Tower, die Neugestaltung eines BĂŒrokomplexes aus den 1960er Jahren. 2016 wurde Thomas Pucher wiederholt fĂŒr NIK ausgezeichnet: diesmal mit der GerambRose, ausgelobt von der BauKultur Steiermark zum Thema „Arbeitswelten“.

Das BĂŒro des Ateliers Thomas Pucher zĂ€hlt derzeit 45 Mitarbeiter und ist damit eines der grĂ¶ĂŸten ArchitekturbĂŒros in Graz. Internationale, nationale sowie regionale Projekte prĂ€gen das Portfolio: So gewann das Atelier Thomas Pucher den ersten Preis in internationalen Wettbewerben fĂŒr die Musikschule in Tallinn, Estland und den Neubau der Sinfonie in Warschau, Polen.

Ein weiteres Siegerprojekt, der „Amstetten School Campus“, ein neuer Campus der mehrere höhere Schulen, unter anderem eine Musikschule, zusammenlegt, wurde 2014 fertiggestellt. NIK, eines der aktuell bekanntesten Bauprojekte in Graz, prĂ€gt seit 2010 das Bild des linken Murufers und hat sich wie der Welcome Tower am Grazer Hauptbahnhof zu einer Landmark entwickelt.

StĂ€dtebauliche Gestaltung und die Verdichtung des Wohnraums mit gleichzeitiger Ausdehnung der GrĂŒnflĂ€chen ist Thomas Pucher ebenfalls ein besonderes Anliegen. 2016 ĂŒbernahm er die Organisation und DurchfĂŒhrung der Urban Future Global Conference in Graz und rĂŒckte Graz damit in den Fokus internationaler Experten auf dem Gebiet der Stadtentwicklung und stĂ€dtebaulichen Planung. Das zentrale Thema der Konferenz beschĂ€ftigte sich mit einem Kernthema der aktuellen Stadtplanung in Graz, in die das Atelier Thomas Pucher mit mehreren Projekten gestalterisch richtungsweisend eingebunden ist: Denn Smart City bedeutet fĂŒr den Architekten Pucher vor allem: Leben und Arbeiten im Quartier, GrĂŒnraum und aktive Nutzung des öffentlichen Raumes.

Kontakt
Atelier Thomas Pucher
BahnhofgĂŒrtel 77/6
8020 Graz
Green Heart in Belgrad
LWL Klinik in Dortmund (Partner Kadawittfeld Architektur)
Reininghaus goes Smart
Tallinn Music School
The Twist
Thomas Pucher
Viertel Zwei Plus, Rondo in Vienna
City Rose Park, Bukarest